14 Ways to Increase Average Order Value With WordPress
Are you in search of methods to encourage prospects to spend extra money in your on-line retailer? You must instantly begin monitoring the common order worth (AOV) metric.
Specializing in AOV is an efficient strategy to develop a enterprise, particularly if you’re operating an eCommerce retailer. Whereas working carefully with quite a few on-line shops over the past decade, I’ve examined a ton of methods to see what will increase AOV and what doesn’t.
From this expertise, I can present you 14 methods which are positive to extend common order worth with WordPress to enhance your backside line.
Notice: It is a visitor put up by Chris Klosowski, the president of Easy Digital Downloads, the very best digital eCommerce plugin for WordPress. That is an skilled column that we publish each different Thursday, the place we invite a WordPress skilled to share their experiences with our readers.
What Is Common Order Worth (AOV)?
Operating a web based retailer is all about assembly the wants of your prospects whereas overlaying your prices and making a revenue. Fortunately, there are fairly a number of methods you’ll be able to enhance your backside line.
For instance, you’ll be able to attempt to enhance the quantity of site visitors coming to your web site or encourage extra of your guests to make a purchase order. This may enhance the variety of conversions or transactions in your retailer, resulting in extra income.
A unique strategy is to attempt to enhance the sum of money you make from every particular person transaction. This is called ‘common order worth’ or AOV and is the subject of this text.
AOV is all about how a lot your prospects are spending per order. You’ll be able to calculate it by dividing your whole income by the variety of orders you acquired.
Right here’s the system for calculating AOV:
AOV = Whole Income / Variety of Orders
For instance, let’s say your on-line retailer generated a complete income of $10,000 from 200 orders in a month. Your AOV could be:
AOV = $10,000 / 200 orders = $50 per order
Understanding and analyzing your AOV can assist you acquire useful insights into your eCommerce business. You’ll be able to then use these insights to make data-driven selections that enhance your profitability and total success.
Total, when you promote a number of digital merchandise, then specializing in rising your common order worth could be a simple strategy to develop what you are promoting.
With that being stated, to extend your retailer’s common order worth, you merely want to provide your prospects a purpose to spend extra.
Let’s check out 14 methods you’ll be able to enhance common order worth with WordPress.
1. Monitor the Common Order Worth (AOV) Metric on Your On-line Retailer
Your first step is to start out monitoring AOV in your WordPress web site. You need to use this information to study which methods are working and which aren’t.
My crew makes this easy in Straightforward Digital Downloads by providing built-in reporting so that you simply don’t need to arrange separate monitoring software program and analytics solutions. All you must do is go to Downloads » Reviews in your WordPress dashboard.
WooCommerce additionally allows you to simply discover AOV inside their dashboard.
For eCommerce monitoring, I extremely suggest setting up eCommerce tracking utilizing Google Analytics in your WordPress website.
2. Get Your Pricing Construction Proper
Discovering the suitable pricing construction in your merchandise is essential. It must cowl your prices and allow you to make a revenue whereas additionally providing truthful costs that encourage prospects to make a purchase order.
There’s quite a bit to think about right here. So, my crew created an in depth information on the Straightforward Digital Downloads weblog that may show you how to structure your digital product pricing for success.
Optimizing your pricing construction could contain some experimentation. Generally, you would possibly discover that decreasing your value raises your AOV as a result of it makes it simpler in your prospects to buy extra merchandise.
However you received’t know what’s working when you don’t measure it. Monitoring your retailer’s AOV metric is a good way to find what’s working and what isn’t.
3. Supply Product Bundles
When contemplating the pricing construction of your retailer, don’t restrict your pondering to particular person merchandise. Bundling totally different combos of merchandise can assist your prospects really feel they’re getting additional worth.
In my last expert column, I discussed that product bundling makes it simpler for patrons to make a buying choice. Higher nonetheless, it could encourage them to buy extra, rising your common order worth.
For instance, certainly one of our prospects, SmashBalloon efficiently makes use of bundling to encourage their prospects to attempt their merchandise in a bundle for a closely discounted value.
Bundles provide your prospects a bulk low cost that sometimes prices 60-80% of the overall worth of these merchandise. The correct combos of merchandise will cater to the person’s tastes, wants, and finances.
For example, you might bundle merchandise which are typically bought collectively. A gaming store would possibly bundle a console along with a sport and controller, or you might bundle an eBook with its audiobook model.
Bundles also can encourage prospects to buy extra merchandise than they have been planning. Somebody who simply desires to buy a number of inventory photographs of residence workplaces could also be tempted by an inexpensive ‘Dwelling Workplace Bundle’.
4. Supply Cost Plans
Generally, your prospects can solely make a small buy just because they don’t find the money for to purchase extra proper now.
’Buy Now Pay Later’ payment plans enable customers to make the acquisition now and pay for it over time. On the similar time, your retailer will obtain the complete quantity straight away.
At present, 35% of shoppers use pay-later plans for many of their purchases.
As a result of they make it simpler in your prospects to make a purchase order, these plans assist enhance conversions and your retailer’s AOV.
Should you’re promoting digital downloads, you need to use cost choices like Klarna and Afterpay to arrange Purchase Now Pay Later with Straightforward Digital Downloads. Alternatively, you might use the WP Simple Pay plugin to supply a pay-later cost possibility with different eCommerce options.
5. Make It Straightforward to Test Out
A prolonged or complicated checkout course of can overwhelm prospects, that means they spend much less effort and time on their purchases and even give up earlier than finishing the cost. A straightforward checkout course of encourages prospects to spend extra.
Simplifying the method reduces the cognitive load on prospects by decreasing the quantity of brainpower wanted. It lets patrons deal with finishing the acquisition with out feeling overwhelmed, which can result in them including extra objects to their cart.
You’ll be able to scale back friction by providing multiple payment options in numerous currencies, permitting your prospects to take a look at as friends with no need to create an account, and together with clear directions.
EDD consists of these choices on its fast-loading checkout web page. You’ll be able to select an extension so as to add the cost strategies you want to use, together with Stripe, PayPal, and lots of others.
You may as well customize the checkout page in WooCommerce and different eCommerce plugins to optimize it for conversions and elevated AOV.
6. Supply Upsells and Cross-Sells
In my expertise, one of the vital efficient methods to encourage prospects to spend extra money when making a purchase order is utilizing order bumps. That is whenever you provide the customer additional merchandise or offers throughout checkout.
Trade reviews estimate that order bumps contribute to 35% of Amazon’s whole income. They do it properly, and it pays off.
Check out a screenshot of how a WordPress theme firm can upsell a associated product.
The primary varieties of order bumps are upsells and cross-sells. Listed below are some examples that can assist you see the distinction:
- In a paint store, an upsell could be to encourage a buyer to purchase UV-resistant paint as an alternative of regular paint. It prices extra initially, however lasts for much longer, providing higher worth and saving cash in the long run.
- A cross-sell could be to supply the shopper different merchandise they’ll want whereas portray their home. These would possibly embrace paint brushes, rollers, drop sheets, paint trays, and extra.
That is merely good customer support. You make positive the shopper purchases the product they really want, and so they have every little thing they require to do the job. They respect it.
It additionally helps you enhance the visibility of merchandise that aren’t bought continuously. And since the shopper spends extra money on the order, it will increase your AOV.
It’s straightforward so as to add order bumps to your on-line retailer utilizing the Straightforward Digital Downloads cross-sell and upsell extension, which is accessible for paid members.
It allows you to add different digital merchandise to your product pages and checkout web page. This will generate some impulse purchases, permitting you to spice up the common order worth.
That is additionally tremendous straightforward to arrange in WooCommerce shops with a plugin like FunnelKit. For extra particulars, simply see the WPBeginner information on how to create an order bump for WooCommerce.
7. Promote Merchandise With Excessive Margins
When you are recommending merchandise to your prospects, it helps to showcase and promote objects with larger revenue margins.
In comparison with your different merchandise, high-margin merchandise will generate extra revenue per unit offered.
By selling them strategically, you’ll be able to enhance your total revenue even when the gross sales quantity stays the identical and even decreases barely. This will result in the next AOV with out requiring a rise within the variety of orders.
In case you have a digital product retailer, then you need to use the EDD Recommended Products extension to prominently show your high-margin merchandise in your downloads and checkout pages.
Amazon does one thing like this on its product pages by displaying ‘Individuals who seen this additionally seen’ and ‘Individuals who purchased this additionally purchased’ suggestions. These can encourage prospects to buy further merchandise they’re fascinated about.
One other strategy is to bundle high-margin merchandise with associated lower-margin ones. This will incentivize prospects to buy the bundle and probably enhance their total spending.
8. Supply Good Coupons
Smart coupons are a good way to get extra gross sales, preserve your prospects glad, and encourage model loyalty. They will inspire your prospects so as to add extra objects to their cart in order that they qualify for a reduction.
For instance, you might encourage prospects to spend extra by providing a free reward or free delivery when their cart whole reaches a specific amount.
Or you’ll be able to create ‘buy one get one’ (BOGO) coupons to persuade customers so as to add extra objects to their cart. Or after they purchase a sure merchandise, you’ll be able to provide them a second merchandise at a reduced value as an alternative of free.
The EDD Discounts Pro extension allows you to create superior reductions which are robotically utilized to the checkout display based mostly on particular circumstances.
Alternatively, in case you have a WooCommerce retailer, then you’ll be able to create sensible coupons with the Advanced Coupons plugin. It allows you to create all types of coupons, rewards, and reductions to get extra gross sales and develop what you are promoting.
9. Optimize the Consumer Journey
I’ve already touched on enhancing the checkout expertise in your on-line retailer, however there are many different methods you’ll be able to optimize the user journey to enhance buyer expertise.
A easy and constructive buyer journey fosters a way of belief and satisfaction. This will encourage prospects to spend extra and return for future purchases.
FunnelKit, previously WooFunnels, is a WordPress sales funnel builder that permits you to optimize the trail customers take in your web site to turn out to be prospects. It allows you to enhance your checkout, provide one-click upsells, use lovely web page layouts, and far more.
Prospects have a constructive expertise on an internet site that’s straightforward to navigate and discover the merchandise they want. This helps them really feel extra assured about their purchases and full bigger orders.
10. Use of the Worry of Lacking Out (FOMO) to Create Urgency
Creating a way of urgency and pleasure can encourage prospects to buy instantly to keep away from lacking out on a useful alternative. This is called FOMO, or the concern of lacking out, and is a widely known gross sales tactic.
When utilizing FOMO methods, that you must be real and clear. In case your prospects sense that you’re making an attempt to govern them by making a false sense of urgency, then you could lose their belief.
Urgency is usually created by operating a limited-time holiday sale, akin to on Black Friday. The shopper must make a purchase order earlier than the sale is over to get the low cost.
When operating a limited-time low cost, I like to recommend displaying a countdown timer to verify prospects act earlier than the provide expires.
Shortage is one other strategy to create a way of urgency. For instance, you’ll be able to inform prospects when inventory is low or provide unique restricted version merchandise.
11. Use Social Proof to Earn Belief
New prospects could also be reluctant to spend a lot cash in your on-line retailer. They merely don’t have a purpose to belief you but.
The truth is, 92% of shoppers are hesitant to make a purchase order when there aren’t any buyer opinions accessible.
That is the ability of social proof, the place potential prospects could be strongly influenced by the experiences of people that already made a purchase order and had a great expertise along with your retailer.
This implies that you would be able to earn the belief of recent prospects by displaying product reviews and testimonials in your web site from real prospects. When you acquire the belief of recent guests, they are going to be far more assured about including objects to their carts.
EDD customers can do that utilizing the Reviews extension. This allows you to allow buyer opinions with star rankings on the merchandise you select.
Alternatively, you need to use different main WordPress social proof plugins like Smash Balloon Reviews Feed Pro and TrustPulse.
12. Create Loyalty Applications
A lot of my prospects efficiently use loyalty programs to encourage customers to spend extra. If you award additional factors for orders over a specific amount, you’ll be able to enhance the common order worth simply as successfully as cross-selling and upselling.
Consider a Starbucks Rewards card. Each time you purchase a drink, you might be nearer to a free espresso.
EDD affords a number of extensions that may show you how to create a loyalty program, such because the Purchase Rewards extension.
This allows you to reward prospects with a reduction code after making a purchase order. You’ll be able to set a minimal buy quantity that may encourage them so as to add extra to their cart.
Alternatively, WooCommerce customers can simply create a loyalty program with the Advanced Coupons Loyalty Program plugin.
13. Recuperate Deserted Carts
Most on-line shops have big numbers of customers leaving their websites from the checkout web page. On common, an enormous 69% of customers are abandoning their carts. Why not attempt to get a few of them again and get better these misplaced gross sales?
These prospects confirmed real curiosity in your merchandise, which makes them useful leads. Remind them of their deserted cart and provide some incentives to finish the acquisition. You would possibly efficiently convert them into paying prospects, and this will contribute to your AOV.
You might be able to catch them simply earlier than they depart your website. OptinMonster’s exit-intent know-how research mouse actions to know when somebody is about to depart your website, and reveals a popup at that actual second.
If an abandoning customer has already left your website, then you’ll be able to ship them a push notification utilizing PushEngage. Or you’ll be able to ship an automatic e-mail utilizing EDD’s Recapture extension to regain their consideration.
You’ll be able to provide the shoppers an incentive to finish the acquisition and current them with related upsell or cross-sell choices, akin to including complementary merchandise to their cart or providing a bundle low cost. That is notably efficient when you use a personalised strategy.
These focused ideas can encourage them to spend extra, probably rising the general order worth.
For extra particulars, you’ll be able to see these guides on how to reduce cart abandonment in WordPress and how to send abandoned cart emails.
14. Take a look at A number of Methods
Now that you simply’ve seen my checklist of how to extend your retailer’s AOV, you will get to work and begin testing a number of methods.
However don’t attempt them .
It’s higher to make one change at a time and measure the impact it has on the worth of your orders. This may allow you to see which approaches work and which don’t in an effort to make data-driven selections for what you are promoting.
Bear in mind, rising AOV is an ongoing course of. Through the use of a mixture of those methods and constantly monitoring and analyzing the outcomes, you’ll be able to successfully elevate your common order worth and increase the general income in your on-line retailer.
I hope the following pointers show you how to develop your on-line enterprise by rising the common order worth (AOV) in your retailer. You might also wish to see these guides on how to create a landing page with WordPress or the best WordPress giveaway and contest plugins.
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